Ta' Kercem lies between the charming Lunzjata Valley and the green hills reaching up to Xlendi cliffs. Archeological evidence shows that the Kercem area was inhabited as far back as the Ghar Dalam phase (5000 - 4500 B.C.) . Remains of a Phoenician house, a Punic Sanctuary and Roman Baths as well as a third century Christian cemetery were found in the area, indicating that a community continued to evolve in this throughout the ages. Regrettably, most of these remains have nowadays been either buried or destroyed.
In 1581, the first chapel dedicated to Pope Gregory the Great was built. In 1851 the current church was built, and Kercem became a Parish in 1885. Kercem is the only Gozitan church which is jointly dedicated to two saints: Pope St. Gregory, and also Our Lady of Succors. Since the number of inhabitants grew the church was enlarged 1910.
The suburb of Santa Lucija is part of Kercem, however this is considerably diverse with its own pastoral church square. Santa Lucija can be considered as a small town consisting of a few old houses surrounding an old chapel dedicated to St. Lucy.
|Male / Female||50.33% / 49.67%|
|Population density||352 per km2|
|Average price||€ 320,686|
|Average price per m2||€ 1,365|
|Sold in the last 30 days||4|
|Currently for sale||41|