San Gwann became a parish in 1965, with a church dedicated to Our Lady of Lourdes run by the Capuchin Friars. Although the town may look quite modern, various historical findings were found in this area.
Situated in the centre of San Gwann is the Mensija Cart Ruts, which dates back to the Punic Period, around 2300-1000 BC. These are evidence of the agricultural community in the area, who farmed the fertile valleys of Wied Ghomor, Wied il-Ballut and Wied Ghollieqa in that period, and who may have resided in nearby caves. In Wied Ghomor, several megalithic-type stone blocks were found which may have belonged to a Neolithic structure. Roman tombs and a covered cistern which have also been excavated in the area indicate that this location has remained inhabited even during the Roman period. The Round Roman Tower of Ta' Cieda is one of eight defensive towers built throughout Malta around the third century AD.
Ta' Xindi Farmhouse and Lanzun Tower, were both used as quarters at the time of the French and British occupation respectively. Torri Lanzun is nowadays used as the seat of the Military and Hospitaller Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem.
The cave-chapel of San Leonardo, which is currently known as the Chapel of the Annunciation or Lunziata Chapel is a unique chapel located in this town. In addition, two other chapels dedicated to San Gwann tal-Gharghar (ca.1646) and to St Philip and St James (ca.1730) are located within the limits of San Gwann.
|Male / Female||49.65% / 50.35%|
|Population density||4,817 per km2|
|Average price||€ 304,768|
|Average price per m2||€ 2,114|
|Sold in the last 30 days||0|
|Currently for sale||656|